Yoga and Writing

Standard

It’s so easy to be discouraged by all those years I wasn’t diligently writing. Oh, sure, I wrote some.  That good ole’ My Documents folder is just full of half-finished projects. Oh, the regret, though. What if I had kept writing writing writing? I would be so good by now, right? I mean, I would totally have won the Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award, because I would be so fabulous.

If I learned anything from The Artist’s Way, however – yes, I am one of Those People, but I’ll try not to mention it every single post – it is that fallow periods are good for the long-term productivity of a writer.

My fallow period wasn’t really so fallow, either. Among other explorations, I became a yoga teacher and a teacher of Les Mills BodyFlow. In both, I learned a lot about how to communicate effectively and connect with people.

More importantly, I learned how to meet my own resistance and accept it. I learned to accept imperfection. I learned a deep breath will get you farther than a scream. I learned that time is the best gift you can give yourself.

I learned that you don’t have to beat your head against a wall to live a creative, productive life – not always, anyway.

Leave a Reply

