Posting

Standard

Last Time I’ll Say This, For Now

Okay, I’m going to post more. Yes, the ever-constant refrain of the blogger. But I really am. I just have to figure out what to post about.

Having a public blog feels weird, and a little scary. I had a blog in the early days of blogging, and it was fun. People read it, and I got lots of hits. I had a nice little blogging community, too.

Then something scary happened. I won’t go into details, but yes, it involved a strange man, and being worried for my safety.

I haven’t had a public blog since. So even though I’ve had a friends-only blog on LJ, this feels weird. I constantly wonder what’s appropriate? How much can I actually, comfortably share? Any suggestions appreciated, from bloggers and non-bloggers alike.

Day By Day

So, let’s see, what’s up with me right now? I don’t think it’s official yet, but things are looking good for me to be teaching again at Gold’s next month. Fingers crossed! As soon as I know for sure, I’ll announce my schedule here. I think I might take my real name off the site, without hiding my actual identity – if that makes sense.

Not a lot exciting going on. Possibly picking a career- still plodding along on the applications-progress course, nothing firm. (Is anything ever firm?) I watched the most recent Doctor Who specials, and the final one made me cry and cry. I’ve been completely in love with David Tennant’s Doctor, and it’s very hard to say goodbye. It was an amazing, moving, heart-breaking exit, too.

Sanctuary

amanda tapping

Tapping as Magnus, with geek-chic cast

Also, I’ve started watching Sanctuary, starring and produced by one of my favorite people in the world, Amanda Tapping of Stargate SG-1. I think she’s just great. The show is very good, but I find myself having to overcome some of the sci-fi baggage I’m bringing on the journey. I am a genre reader, and TV sci-fi fan as well, so it can be hard to appreciate a new series on its own merits. I’m trying very hard not to compare. It’s especially hard when the series stars one of your favorite sci-fi actresses. She looks and speaks completely different from her SG-1 character, but my brain is hard-wired to see her as Amanda-Tapping-Samantha-Carter. Tapping is a wonderful actress, though, so it’s also really fun to see her bring life and heart to a completely different character – and a wonderful character at that. I’m always excited to see women in sci-fi who aren’t stereotypes.

Leave a Reply

