The Yoga of Money

Standard

Last week, I finally decided upon the right 200-hr Registered Yoga Teacher (RYT) training for me: Glenmore Yoga and Wellness Center. I love the way the program is broken down, the flexibility in the time frame for completion, and the opportunities to specialize in therapeutic yoga and yoga for seniors.

Amid the doubts of my never-quite-quiet mind, I’m excited about finally committing to this path. I’ve been dipping my toe in to the Real Yoga Teacher Pond, and the idea of being able to carry myself with the confidence of a highly-trained professional is pretty cool. I’m also really looking forward to meeting more like-minded yogis, immersing myself in yoga for whole weekends, and challenging myself.

So, who wants to pay me to do this thing?

When I first decided to become a BodyFlow instructor, I knew, as now, that I had to do it. I felt, as now, that going in that direction was aligning myself with my right purpose in life. I knew, as now, that it was worth the cost, that I would reap benefits far beyond the dollar.

Also, as now, I was secretly convinced I did not have enough money to pay for the training.

Long story short, I paid for it with little hardship, and had made the money back within just a few months of teaching, between actual class pay and the free gym membership.It’s been, overall, a wonderful three years. Teaching BodyFlow seriously may be the very best thing I’ve ever done in my life. I just love it. The idea of not teaching it makes me sad and, indeed, during the few months in that time when I wasn’t teaching Flow, I just didn’t feel right.

To be honest, I’m not in a very steady place financially. I know I’m not the only one, and I don’t want to whine. It’s just kind of hard to justify this, rationally. I don’t have enough money for health insurance. I have dental concerns that really shouldn’t be ignored. My emergency fund would carry me a month, if I was lucky.

So how can I spend thousands of dollars on something that doesn’t necessarily equal greater stability or income? Suze Orman would not approve.

Here’s how I’m justifying it right now. I don’t need to spend thousands of dollars right now, just a few hundred. And if I spend a few hundred here and there, as it comes available, I will eventually finish the certification. I’ve found a few hundred dollars here and there for things that meant far less to me.

Most importantly, this is who I want to be. This is the life I want to live. Deciding not to take this path, the very idea of not taking this path, feels like locking myself in a dark room, putting shackles on, and deciding to sit in the dark for a few years.

I am following the light.

Leave a Reply

