Les Mills Rocks My World

Standard

On Saturday, we had a Les Mills Quarterly Workshop (QW) right here in Richmond.  I went and had such a good time. Even though I’ve posted most of the pictures on Facebook, I thought I’d share a few more of my experiences here.

Quarterly What?

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, basically, these are the events where instructors go to take and learn about the new Les Mills releases (BodyPump, BodyFlow, etc.) from the rock stars of our world – trainers and other national presenters. It’s also a great chance to remember what a huge and wonderful community we’re a part of; I always come home so inspired and revved up for my classes!

Since it was in town, I chose my schedule for the day in a (relatively) leisurely way. BodyFlow is my favorite, and 90% of the reason I go to QW. I decided to go BodyStep and CX30, opting out of BodyPump altogether. (I actually could really use some extra training in BodyPump, but I teach on Fridays and I wanted to save my legs to enjoy BodyFlow. That turned out to be an excellent call!)

BodyStep

So I started the day with BodyStep. I don’t teach that format, but it is my usual Saturday morning workout (with the magnificent Ida at the Gold’s Fan, for those of you who would like to join me!), and I’ve started adding it to other days of the week. Over the last year or so, I’ve become quite a BodyStep addict. It’s got a steep learning curve – I won’t lie – but once you have the feel for it, there’s nothing more fun or energizing!

It’s also increased my cardio endurance magnificently. I have to push myself much harder on cardio machines now to get my heart rate into zone. (That’s a good thing!)

So, I grabbed a bench in the back of the room and listened attentively during the education session, led by trainer Rodney from Texas. I learned some helpful things about how to execute a half-burpee, and how to use weight  properly – the latter a new addition to this Step release.

I have always skipped the burpees, to be honest – half or no-half! – but I couldn’t skip it when the trainer was talking us all through it. I listened up and gave it a try – and rocked it! I am feeling much braver now. (Bring it, Ida!)

The class itself was excellent. I loved the energy of the room full of BodyStep instructors. The workout was tough and fun. Rodney’s presentation was really vibrant and not a little flirty. It was impossible not to have a great time!

CX30

CX30 is the newest program from Les Mills. It’s a 30-minute format entirely devoted to core training. I had some vague idea of what to expect – or at least I thought I did. I’m a BodyFlow instructor, after all; we’re no strangers to deep core training, right? But I’ll tell you what – I had no idea what I was in for! CX30 is crazy hard.

After track 2 (of 6!), a room full of Les Mills instructors was groaning and asking, “Are we done yet?” Then it got harder! I felt my waist in a whole new way.

(I felt it until Tuesday!)

In short, I was sold. Aside from occasional waffling and moments of utter panic when I decide there is no way, I am training when it comes to my home gym in July.

(Gold’s peeps, look for the program launch in August!)

BodyFlow                  

After that fun and invigorating morning, I went home and ate big ole’ pasta lunch. Then I enjoyed a warm shower and an hour-long nap. (Another lovely benefit of in-town events!)

I got freshened up and put on my prettiest BodyFlow clothes to wrap up the day with my very favorite class. BodyFlow is my passion. It was my entire reason for becoming a fitness instructor, and I just can’t imagine my life without it. It has completely changed my life, and continues to enrich my life every week. I’ve been teaching for four years (can’t believe it!) and still find something new to love about it all the time.

*happy sigh*

Anyway… Laura Lynn was our lovely trainer and presenter for the afternoon. I’d met her a few times before: once at another QW, and once when she was presenting BodyVive at Gold’s. She is really great, very sweet and personable. She does everything right that makes BodyFlow magical. She is definitely one of my top-list Les Mills role models, and the class was wonderful.

I have to say, this is absolutely the toughest standing strength track ever. In one of the first releases I have (34), there’s a track where our program director says, “This is the longest standing strength track in the history of BodyFlow. We’re going where we’ve never gone before.”

BodyFlow 53 track three? Longer. Harder.

You should have heard the groans!

Anyway, all in all, it was a lovely day. I’m already trying to figure out how I can afford the QW in September on top of BodyPump AIM!

Thanks for reading!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

