Leaving Gold’s

Standard

As many of you know, I am no longer an instructor at Gold’s Gym Willow Lawn/The Fan. I’ve been thinking pretty hard about how much I can say here without being unprofessional.

After long thought, I’ve decided it’s better to state the basic truth, so there aren’t a million rumors flying around about what happened. As I’ve been telling my close friends, it’s not really all that exciting.

Truly, it’s almost cliched. I asked for a meeting to talk about an increase in class pay rate, and was flat-out refused – not only a meeting, but a possibility of a rate increase, now or in the future.

I don’t hold a grudge, but I am disappointed. It is unacceptable to continue working at the same rate I did as a starting teacher – 5 years ago, 3 Les Mills programs and a yoga certification ago. The same rate a new teacher walking in the door today would get.

I understand a company has to make a business decision, so again, no grudges. But in the end, I had to make a decision for myself and my own sense of value. As Suze Orman says, “Do not let others dictate your worth. You are not on sale.”

Leave a Reply

