Cheesecake Calorie Factory!

Standard

I’m going with some friends to the Cheesecake Factory for ice cream tonight, so I took a peek at their menu. Oh, all the yummies! I thought maybe I’d stick to the simple “Dish of ice cream,” but I suspect they make that sound boring so that you’ll buy fancier/more expensive items, like the Godiva brownie sundae. I mean, really, which one sounds better?

Then I went hunting for nutritional information. It wasn’t easy to find. And when I did find it, I was shocked. Just go through the menu for a few seconds and check out the calories on random things. Crazy.

In case you’re feeling lazy, here are a few highlights (chosen for contrast):

Cheesecake (per slice):

  • original cheesecake 707
  • Godiva chocolate cheesecake 1109
  • Adam’s PB fudge ripple 1326

Well, thank goodness I’m not eating cheesecake tonight, right? But then, looking at the ice cream, that plain old boring “dish of ice cream” suddenly seems a lot more appealing:

  • dish of ice cream 277-333
  • Godiva Chocolate Brownie Sundae (serves 2) 1018
  • factory mud pie (serves 2) 2065

When I first looked at the menu, I thought I might go crazy and get a hot fudge sundae. Thinking it would be maybe a few hundred more calories. But not quite, unless by a couple hundred you mean 1200 calories! (For a total of 1534.)

No wonder they don’t widely publicize their calorie count. Dinner and dessert could be two days worth of calories for some people!

Leave a Reply

