Sunday Night Blues

Standard

I’m trying to think of weekly rituals to counter-act the Sunday Night Blues, that anxiety that creeps in every week when I get home from teaching BodyFlow and realize I go back to work the next day and am really not ready.

It’s easier tonight because tomorrow is a holiday, and Tuesday is an easier day than Monday. (Monday is a class I need to prepare for; Tuesday is one I can throw together some thoughts in the hour before class and be good to go.) So, first of all, I think I need to start preparing for Monday on Friday. That will alleviate the weekly angst of getting to Sunday night and realizing all at once I have work to do, and going into a panic.

Once that’s taken care of, I think an evening much like the one I just had will be nice. I went for a walk, and though I was feeling a little sad and lonely, I kept being met by sights and sounds I loved. The birds were singing, breezes rustled the now-thick green trees. I saw not one, but three rabbits, all hanging out together! They didn’t even run away when I walked by. It was idyllic.

Back home, I cooked a nice, healthy, satisfying dinner, then listened to the NPR podcast Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me while knitting. Now I think I’ll take a bath and go to bed.

It’s very calming, much calmer than my usual Sunday night, throwing together a playlist and looking for inspiration on YouTube! I just read an article about New Yorkers who fight the blues by going out to dinner at their favorite spot on a Sunday night, but that would have to wait until I make more money – and honestly, until I magically become a full-on extrovert. I do need some alone time before I start my week.

Hope those of you who have tomorrow off enjoy the long weekend, and thank you to those of you who work tomorrow for the service you provide!

Leave a Reply

