Blogging 101

Standard

I signed up for WordPress’ Blogging 101, because I want to start over without deleting my blog and starting over. I’ve been blogging since the dawn of blogging. I remember a time when my friends would ask me exactly what a “blog” was. This particular blog has been around for years. It started as a writing blog, then became a fitness blog, and now… I’m not sure what it is!

My favorite blog was probably my first, “The Continuing Adventures of Marian”. It was just a life blog, and helped me to keep an eye out for things I enjoyed, or made me laugh, or touched me but I wasn’t sure why. I had a fairly strong readership until I shut down the blog – following an incident with a stalker. I’d made myself too vulnerable, sharing too many of the details of my life – so I went immediately to sharing none.

Frankly, I am not only tired of writing about fitness, I’m tired of reading about it. There are so many opinions out there, and people trying to sell their fitness agenda. It’s not really that hard, you know? I started this blog when I was new to fitness as a profession, and it was exciting. But once living an active lifestyle is a daily habit, it starts to feel like writing about bathing, or sleep routines, or your drive to work. It’s just what you do.

I love my job as a fitness professional, don’t get me wrong. I love talking to people who are on a path of self-betterment, and acting in a coaching role to help them get there. I love creating safe, effective, fun fitness classes. It’s a good life! But at the end of the day – as I imagine many people feel about their jobs – I want to leave my work behind.

So I think a more interesting blog for me would be a lot more well-rounded. You’ve probably noticed it started going in that direction lately, anyway. I think I would like to talk more about creativity, whether that is in enjoyment of theater, books, writing and photography, or about the struggle of being a woman in modern society trying to balance professional and personal needs. (Have no doubt, that is a creative effort!)

I just spent a weekend at Wizard World Comic Con, and am going to World Fantasy Convention in November. I love fitness, but my life is so much more than fitness. If I could have my ideal blog, it would be like the one I started out with – a space to talk about my continuing adventures.

Watch this space. 🙂

Leave a Reply

