Looking up!

Standard

This will be a quick post. I read the last few posts, & I have to say now that I’m feeling better, I sound completely crazy!

Having been through it, though, to me it also screams “cry for help”, but just how many people saw it as that? Right, none. Because people don’t care if you’re being dramatic, even if you really are upset, and you really are having a hard time, and even you really are having a hard time keeping yourself together.

I’m really grateful that this depression, if I’m allowed to call it that, hasn’t become a severe, crippling depression. And that it seems to be lifting, that I’m even enjoying my job again. I’m looking forward to it each day.

But I’m still pretty much done by the end.

On the whole, I’m feeling much more capable, & I have reached out for help from the appropriate resources, both in the  personal and professional realms.

On the creative front, I have made significant progress with my writing! Excited about self publishing through Amazon, which is easy and super fulfilling. I love the instant rewards, I’ve got to say. Though I certainly envy all my friends who have done it the “right” way and have amazing publishers, I’ve also seen how they have to wait years for anybody to buy their book, not even taking into account the rigorous process of getting accepted for publication . Where mine was published and bought within 2 days, and it’s so exciting to know that there are people out there reading my work.

I do think there are benefits to having gatekeepers for the writing community. However, if you’re someone like me, who has a day job, it is really helpful to have an outlet: to not have to worry about how to get the story out there. It’s the nothing-to-lose creative process, which is exactly what I need!

After tomorrow, I have a whole week (plus some!) of vacation, & I cannot tell you how long it’s been since I had a vacation… Some of it is at home, and then I’m going to World Fantasy Convention 2014, where I’m going to see a bunch of my amazing fantasy writer and reader friends. I am busily highlighting my printed out program notes, deciding which panels I’m going to be attending in between hanging out with friends at the hotel bar.

Thanks for reading. šŸ™‚

3 responses »

  1. Hope you have a great time at World Fantasy, and, just as a side note, I think the only “right” way to publication is the one that is right for you. So cheers for publication and vacation time!

      • Just looked over the program. Lots of good things on the schedule. Yea librarians! Hope they aren’t bringing up the ones like in Harry Potter — that woman gives librarians a bad name. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

