Not arguing about The Force Awakens

Standard

imagesI am having such a hard time not arguing about Star Wars.

It is not helping anything or anyone, and it just isn’t healthy.

So here’s what I’m going to do:

1) Practice my yoga and release judgment. After all, it was letting go of judgment and expectations that allowed me to enjoy the movie so much. I’m sure if I had already determined what I wanted the movie to be like, I would have found something to be dissatisfied with, too, or even disappointed.

a. Let go of my own judgment of the movie. Which is 100 % positive, but also brings out an obsessive part of me I don’t much like. And it puts me at odds with people I disagree with, which doesn’t really help anything.

It gets ugly when fandom turns to hate mail. I haven’t gone that far yet, but I came very close this morning to commenting on an author’s review (and one of the worst I’ve seen, by someone who is highly respected in the fantasy writers community) that his books aren’t even close to as entertaining as this movie.

I barely resisted. But I did make a slightly rude comment and defriend him. Yeah….

b) Let go of judgment of others opinions. This pretty much means I need to stop reading all opinion pieces at this point, but that’s okay.

2) Focus on my own creativity.

This joy I feel, at purely enjoying the magic of a movie, is something I really missed, and it reminds me what is possible when a story is told with heart, a sense of fun and delight, and without fear.

That’s what I want to do.

Leave a Reply

